Jakarta Restaurant Reviews

from Jakarta's very own review ninja.

The Upper Crust Food Delivery Service Review, Pondok Indah, Jakarta


As many friends of JakartaRestaurantReviews.com will know, Marmz and the Mz are partial to the odd beer or fifteen.  This can cause a few problems.  Like forgetting the difference between left and right when directing taxi drivers.  But it can also create happy mistakes.

Serendipity has alway been one of my favourite words, and is the reason I am re-reviewing The Upper Crust.  I put in my order to this wonderful food delivery service the night before last for a Mexican feast for my Lady friend and I.  I also thought, in a moment of largesse, that I should buy some nachos and salsa along with my order for the office staff in my company.  While day(beer)dreaming about fajitas, I accidentally ordered a family meal for four of chicken fajitas for the staff, so when I saw the confirmation of my order the next day, I was a little annoyed.   ‘What were you doing you drunk idiot?’, went my id.  But I thought that 260,000 Rp wasn’t at all steep, so I decided to suck it up.

The food was delivered in a HUGE box, still warmish and I laid it out for my colleagues to nibble upon.  A family of four?!  There was enough food to service a Jakarta demo.   Colleagues came from nooks and crannies I have yet to identify and feasted.  There seemed to be about 24+ fajita wraps and a ridiculous amount of salsa, mexican rice and extras, although I noticed the cheese was in short supply.

My folly turned a boring Wednesday into a super-happy day. Everyone was remarking upon how my stupidity made me a great colleague.  And we got freebie chocolate stuff! (Orders over 200,000 Rp)

This is a seriously good quality service.  Delivery outside Pondok Indah is 20,000 Rp but well worth it.

Yum.  Ariba!

The address is:  wileychj@rad.net.id  to order.  She is an overuser of smiley icons but her food rocks.

April 29, 2010 - Posted by | American/Western | , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Congratulations on finding one of Jakarta’s best kept secrets, but it is only a secret outside of the expat world who live in Jak. Selatan…The Upper Crust is the best deal in town, I lived there for 7 years, and when the UC closed for summer holiday, most of the expats starved…try the snicker doodle cookies, my fav. Thanks for the positive reveiw! Paula Graham, Makan enaaaak!

    Comment by Paula Graham | April 30, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers

