Jakarta Restaurant Reviews

from Jakarta's very own review ninja.

Koh-E-Noor Restaurant Review, Pasar Festival, Jl. H. R. Rasuna Said, Kuningan, Jakarta


As I have compared this restaurant favourably in another review, I thought it was only fair to do the honourable thing and give it its own run-down.

After a busy day of doing precisely nothing – I love holidays – the Marmz team scooted down to Pasar Festival, which the management appears to be making worse, if that was possible, by placing a weird facade on to the front.  Perhaps they are trying to compete with the government buildings on Rasuna Said, which are also having a tacky face-lift to justify their budget for another year.  The funky orange lines on the building next to Menara Kuningan would be fine but for the fact that they are unevenly positioned, creating a very wonky appearance that will annoy me until they rip them down in favour of some other half-baked idea.

Koh-E-Noor is not a very large restaurant and appears to be under-staffed compared with the over-proliferation of staff in some of the other Indian restaurants in Jakarta.  What they have actually done, miracle of miracles, is to employ people who can work a restaurant rather than Gramedia-style quantity-over-quality employees.

I have been going to Koh-E-Noor for 4 years and I am always impressed with the level of customer service.  They are pleasant and attentive, and their knowledge of the dishes is good.  Food arrives extremely quickly which can be a bit of a double-edged sword.  Erring on the side of speed is not going to win any plaudits from me, though, when it comes to cooking chicken, so today I wasn’t especially chuffed with the kitchen staff.  My chicken arrived on a hotplate, and despite my best efforts to roll it around to get the pinkiness to cook off, the chicken was still unnervingly underdone.   I can not stand it when I see undercooked chicken.  It makes me put off eating it at all.  I made do with stealing Mz’ tikka makhanwala sauce and dipping my qeema naan into it.  The poppadum masalah was very salty and this made me a little sad as this was usually very tasty with a nice balance of flavours .

We told the waitress about the chicken, who responded with an ‘oh’ but looked about as concerned about this as she might have been about the 2.30 winner at Chepstow.

I am going to give the benefit of the doubt that this was a one-off, as unlike other commenters on this site, I haven’t previously had a bad experience there.   But now I am wary…

Any favourable words about curry joints in Jakarta?  Please let me know!

December 23, 2009 - Posted by | Asian:Indonesian | , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. What’s the ****ing point in giving you favourable words about curry joints? You are the ****ing resto reviewer, if I have to review the ****ing thing myself and let you know, it kinda makes your part of the loop redundant doesn’t it?

    And for all your old **** about leaving messages for the manager, you couldn’t even send back a bit of raw chicken. Some ****ing soup inspector you turned out to be.

    And it’s “keema” naan bread.

    Comment by Anonymous | December 30, 2009 | Reply

    • Keema, Kheema or Qeema (Hindi: क़ीमा, Urdu: قیمہ, pronounced [ˈqiːmaː]; Punjabi: ਕ਼ੀਮਾ; Turkish ‘kıyma’) is a traditional dish of the India. Originally this word meant minced meat.[1] It is typically minced-lamb curry with peas or potatoes. Keema can be made from almost any meat, can be cooked by stewing or frying, and can be formed into kababs. Keema is also sometimes used as a filling for samosas or naan. THANKS, WIKI!

      As for cutting me out of the loop, no I think by your reply it indicates that I am still in the loop. As for the chicken, sometimes I just can’t be arsed complaining. If I do complain and then write about it, i get oodles of grief from Anonymous types calling me pompous/arrogant/etc. So be a good boy and get back in your cave.

      Comment by jakartarestaurantreviews | December 30, 2009 | Reply

      • I visited this restaurant but i will never go again i become very disappointed from their service food was ok, not bad, the service was much awkward.

        Comment by Anonymous | November 7, 2012

  2. Finally the Koh-E review. Get it printed and up in the window next to the Claw’s two efforts. Easy there gravy, let’s turn over a new leaf, forgive and forget, kiss and make up and look forward to 2010’s inspections.

    Comment by Spatchcock McGee | December 30, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

